2023 Lumen Gentium Awards

Bishop Joe Vásquez presented the 2023 Lumen Gentium Awards to the following individuals in recognition of their faithfulness and service. Recipients were nominated by their pastor or diocesan staff.

The laity are given this special vocation: to make the Church present and fruitful in those places and circumstances where it is only through them that she can become the salt of the earth. Thus, every lay person, through those gifts given to him, is at once the witness and the living instrument of the mission of the Church itself ‘according to the measure of Christ’s bestowal.” (Eph 4:7)

— No. 33, Dogmatic Constitution On The Church (Lumen Gentium), Second Vatican Council, Nov. 21, 1964

Carlos and Idalia Acuña

St. Mary, Brenham


Matthew Anderson

University Catholic Center, Austin


Pedro and Maria Arenas

Santa Teresa, Bryan


Ann Arnett

St. Ignatius Martyr, Austin


Debra Atomanczyk

St. Joseph, Elk


Donald Baldovin

Diocese of Austin


Ralph and Melinda Blanco

St. Joseph, Waco


Daniel and Shirley Bouvier

St. Charles Borromeo, Kingsland


Gary Bowers (in memory)

Santa Rosa, Andice


Thuy Bui and Mai Nguyen

Holy Vietnamese Martyrs, Austin


Joe and Hortencia Capello

St. Mary of the Visitation, Lockhart


Renee Cardwell

St. John Vianney, Round Rock


Eileen Cmerek

St. Mary, Taylor


Tucker and Suzanne Copeland

St. Paul, Smithville


Bruce and Kathryn Cowen

St. Joseph, Dime Box


Jack Cranford

St. Anthony, Bryan


Julieta De Jesus

St. Joseph, Manor


Colleen and Michael Debner

St. Austin, Austin


Ann DeGraffenried

St. Peter, Goldthwaite


Chris and Linda Dehan

St. John Neumann, Austin


Stephen Dillon

St. Catherine of Siena, Austin


Glenn Dutton

Sacred Heart, Lott


Kevin and Kimberly Farris

St. Mary Cathedral, Austin


Robert and Nicole Feldman

St. Margaret Mary, Cedar Park


Lynn and Susan Fister

St. Mary Catholic Center, College Station


Deacon Michael P. Forbes

Diocese of Austin


Carlos and Vickie Franco

St. Mary, Lampasas


Maria Gonzalez

St. Mary, Caldwell


Ed and Jan Harry

Good Shepherd, Johnson City


Claudia Haydon

St. Paul the Apostle, Horseshoe Bay


Brian and Jo Gail Hearon

St. Paul, Austin


Maria Guadalupe Hernandez-Dubey

St. Mary, Hearne


Emily Hurlimann

Diocese of Austin


Charles Christopher Hutyra

St. Martin, Tours


Janice Ingram

Diocese of Austin


Monica Ivey

Good Shepherd, Lometa


John and Joyce James

Holy Cross, Austin


Kurt and Becky Johnson

St. Thomas Aquinas, College Station


Kyle and Carla Kacir

St. Joseph, Cyclone


Donny Knebel

Our Lady of Lourdes, Gatesville


Mark and Debbie Klaus

Holy Trinity, Corn Hill


JD and Pam Kosarek

St. Jerome, Waco


Ann Krenek

St. Monica, Cameron


Karl Kuykendall

Diocese of Austin


Maria Del Carmen Landaverde

St. William, Round Rock


Kathy and Bruce Layfield

St. Patrick, Hutto


George Lourigan

St. Helen, Georgetown


Erick and Shenna Luna

Santa Cruz, Buda


Myron and Chery Lutz

St. Martin de Porres, Dripping Springs


Mary Ellen Maddox

St. Eugene, McGregor


Michael and Janice Marek

Sts. Cyril and Methodius, Marak


Roman and Myra Martinez

San Francisco Javier, Austin


George and Tina McNew

Our Lady of the Lake, Sunrise Beach


Michael and Christine Millerick

St. Louis, Waco


Richard and Charlotte Montgomery

St. Elizabeth, Pflugerville


Alejandro and Gloria Muñoz

Our Lady of Guadalupe, Temple


Miguel Olalde Camargo and Elsa Olalde Loma

St. Stephen, Salado


Tom Olsen

St. Luke, Temple


Francis O'Meara

St. Anthony, Kyle


Bertin and Irma Pantoja

St. Michael, Uhland


Kathy Paschel

Holy Trinity, Llano


Manuel and Elia Patino

St. Mary, San Saba


Joyce Paulk

Holy Family, Lexington


Beverly J. Pennington

Our Lady of Wisdom, San Marcos


Nasario and Leticia Pérez

St. Albert the Great, Austin


Robert and Maria Picazo

St. Francis on the Brazos, Waco


Pat Quackenbush

St. Peter Catholic Center, Waco


Ana Resto

St. Joseph, Killeen


Edward Reyes Sr.

St. Joseph, Marlin


Silvestre and Jeaneth Robles

St. Thomas, Hamilton


Trish Rochat

St. Joseph, Mason


Priscilla K. Ruiz

Ascension, Bastrop


Rita Sanchez

Sacred Heart, Elgin


María Santellano

St. Joseph, Rockdale


Bob and Colleen Saxon

Christ the King, Belton


Lillian Scarmardo Hughes

St. Joseph, Bryan


Gina Simmons

St. Vincent de Paul, Austin


Maryrae Stein

Diocese of Austin


Otis and Rosa Sumerall

St. Paul Chong Hasang, Harker Heights


David Swinson III

St. Mary, Waco


Jimmy and Wanda Thornton

St. Mary, Our Lady of the Lake, Lago Vista


Lynn Tinney

Sacred Heart, Austin


Maria Rosario Tristan

San José, Austin


Jim and Earline Trlicek

Sacred Heart, La Grange


Linda Turner

Holy Rosary, Frenstat


Norma Uhls

St. John the Evangelist, Marble Falls


Maria Elena Urrutia

St. John, San Marcos


Jesus and Maria Vazquez

Our Lady of Guadalupe, Austin


Darrel and Dana Wagner

St. Ferdinand, Blanco


Mary P. Walker

Diocese of Austin


Renae Willberg

Visitation, Westphalia


Radell Williams

St. Mary, Mexia


Susan Zapalac

St. Mary, Ellinger


Lexxus Zika

St. John, Fayetteville